The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

girlonthetrainbanner.png

There’s nothing so painful, so corrosive, as suspicion.

This week, Entertainment Weekly released two first-look photographs for The Girl on the Train film adaptation set for release in October 2016. Am I excited? Yes. Especially since this is one of the few times I am hoping that a book translates better on  screen than it did on the page.

Rachel Watson is an unemployed, divorced alcoholic. Every day she takes the same train to and from London. From the train window she watches the morning routine of a suburban couple she dubs Jess and Jason. She imagines Jess and Jason’s life as perfect, a far-cry from her own dreary existence. But one morning, she sees something shocking – it’s just a glimpse, but it’s enough – and her preoccupation with the couple instantly turns from innocent voyeurism to having herself inextricably and dangerously drawn into their lives.

Saying any more would risk divulging the multiple twists that make up the plot of this psychological thriller. I was surprised that I didn’t love this book as much as I imagined I would. The premise is so original, it was touted as the “next Gone Girl” (personally, I’d rather liken it to SJ Watson’s Before You Go To Sleep), and the characters are terribly unlikeable – between cheats, liars and an unreliable protagonist, you can trust no one; my favourite kind of characters! This would be the type of book I’d devour in one sitting.

Sadly, however, something just didn’t quite connect with me. And while I did like it, it didn’t really have that reel-you-in quality I was hoping for. Still, I will most definitely give The Girl on the Train another try when it hits the silver screen next year.

One thought on “The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

  1. I completely agree with everything you said! It definitely had similar vibe as Before I Go To Sleep, and the ending just didn’t quite do it for me. It was an enjoyable read, but nothing really WOWed me about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

